A Nervous Girl’s Guide to… Classical Music (And Why It’s Simply Delightful)

While it sometimes has a reputation for being stuffy and a tad highbrow, I love classical music. While you are listening, it lulls you into a world of top hats, tea parties and stately homes, and deep into a sort of fantasy where everything is simply delightful, and where people skip about in ballrooms and nothing nasty ever happens, and where people fall into a deep, meaningful, romantic love with each other, a notion that is far removed from snogging a stranger at 4 in the morning. When I listen to classical music, I can pretend I’m a bit sophisticated, and may even find my little finger sticking out when I hold my glass.

This week, my friend and I booked ourselves in to see an opera in November, an activity that is usually populated by middle-class, middle-aged people with a bit of *cough* extra cash to spend. It’s not usually the realm of those in their twenties, and certainly not in the budget of those in their twenties (which is why my friend and I will be enjoying Puccini closer to the ceiling than to the stage).

It’s got me thinking about classical pieces that I really love, and because I’m not feeling very well and therefore not in the state of mind to write a particularly funny or important blog, I thought I would fob you off *ahem* I mean, entertain you with a list of my top 10 favourite classical pieces (in no particular order).

  • The Breaking of the Fellowship by Howard Shore (Lord of the Rings had to sneak in here).
  • Canon In D Major by Johann Pachelbel
  • O Mio Babbino Caro by Giocamo Puccini (Probably the most beautiful couple of minutes of music ever written).
  • Lark Ascending by Ralph Vaughn Williams (Reminds me of the English countryside and brings a bit of tear to my eye).
  • Chorus of the Hebrew Slaves by Guiseppe Verdi
  • Any Other Name by Thomas Newman
  • Chi il bel sogna di Doretta by Giocamo Puccini
  • Gymnopedies by Erik Satie
  • Mars, The Bringer of War by Gustav Holst (I usually need a lie down after listening to this).
  • Shawshank Prison (Stoic Theme) by Thomas Newman

What’s your favourite classical piece?

 

2 thoughts on “A Nervous Girl’s Guide to… Classical Music (And Why It’s Simply Delightful)

Leave a Reply

