The Childhood Diaries of A Nervous Girl (20th of August)

Another snapshot of my childhood diaries, detailing the 20th of August from 2005 to 2016.

2005 (Age 11) – Woke up. Went to ‘Elizabeth’s Castle’ on a ‘Puddle Duck’ boat. Went round Jersey museum. Went round St. Helier on a little train. Had lunch at the ‘Cock and Bottle’ pub. Went to the Aqua dome. Had dinner at ‘Jersy Joe’s’. Played cards in the lobby bar.

2006 (Age 12) – Woke up. Had bacon butties for breakfast. Mum and I had a walk down the canal. Watched ‘Hotel Inspector’ where the woman cared more about her pets than her hotel.

2007 (Age 13) – Today I went to Gran and Grandpa’s and we went to Cannon Ashby, which is an Elizabethan mansion. We went to the tea room and I had a baguette, followed by a choc chip cake. The house was interesting. We stopped at a craft centre which had chickens and cats everywhere. We also had a look round a church that had a really high white ceiling that you would not have guessed was that tall from outside. Grandpa took me home. Ade tried to persuade Grandpa to go to the chalet and get a PC. Grandpa borrowed the video Apollo 13, but when he got home he realised he hadn’t got a video player. I watched a Richard Dawkins documentary called ‘Enemies of Reason’ which is about tarot and homeopathic remedies; they put so much water in that the amount of actual medicine in it is like a drop in the ocean.

2008 (Age 14) – Gran and Grandpa picked me up to take me to the city of York. It’s a lovely historical city with loads of old buildings. There were lots of street performers, including puppet people, a purple man on a bike, a group of African man doing chanting and dancing, and a piano, accordion and violin player. Had lunch down this street called Shambles which looks like you’ve stepped back in time. Had lunch in an Italian restaurant, and the waiter was very Italian. We all laughed at the mad Italian music playing. I had delicious pesto pasta and then we went round York Minster which is beautiful, and had a look at the Roman things below ground. It was brilliant. I almost kept falling asleep because of the travel pills I took. Watched the Olympic gymnastics gala later.

2009 (Age 15) – My day consisted of sleeping, reading my manga book and generally slobbing about.

2010 (Age 16) – Went to Lucy’s chicken party today, which didn’t really have anything chicken-related about it, except going to visit the chickens outside. We watched music channels, ate pizza and crisps and talked (or shouted, depending on loud the music was). At one point we were freaking out because there was a huge spider on the wall.

2011 (Age 17) – Did a shift at the charity shop. Sorted clothes and learnt how to operate the till. Watched the ‘X- Factor’. Wrote about 2000 words of my novel; nearing the end now.

2012 (Age 18) – Mum and I took a trip to the Holocaust Centre. We went round the exhibitions and memorial garden (which had a stone pile for people to add to in memory of child victims of the Holocaust). We listened to a survivor speak, who was five years old when he was arrested from his classroom for having a Jewish father. He very narrowly avoided being sent to a camp. It was very interesting.

2013 (Age 19) – Me and my Mum went into town. We were ages in a music shop choosing CDs. They were playing ‘The Smiths’ which made it better. Mum spent £18 on a reed diffuser, and when she does things like that, it reminds me of how middle class we are. Watched a good documentary about Irish traditional music.

2014 (Age 20) – Tonight I went to see the ‘Rocky Horror Picture Show’ on my own, because none of the other interns were either interested or could afford it. Theatre is cheaper in South Africa, and I wanted to see it, so I decided I’d rather go on my own than not go at all. I had no idea what it was about until, just before the show started, a man in a dress came over, pointed at my crotch a said ‘it looks like a party for 3 in there.’ Sex. That’s what it’s about. It’s an over the top, over-acted, crazily random, musical/show about sex and transvestitism. It was really great and a lot of fun. You use these participation packs to join in, so you throw confetti at certain points in the show or wave a glow stick. It got a bit messy at the end.

2015 (Age 21) – Kelly had a clear out and gave me a top she remembered that I liked. Mum and I re-watched ‘Spirited Away’ and remembered just how freaky it was.

2016 (Age 22) – Gran and Grandpa came over and we drank a magnum of prosecco, and a lot of food. Bought loads of world music CDs today; I love being on a salary now! It means I can indulge in my random hobbies.

Leave a Reply

