The Childhood Diaries of A Nervous Girl (1st August)

Another helping of my strange childhood diaries, 1st of August style! Apparently I used to wear chocolate boxes as shoes and drool profusely.

 

2005 (Age 11) – Woke up. Gran and Grandpa took me out. Mum came over for a meal, and took me back home.

2006 (Age 12) – Woke up. Read a lot today. Wore an empty chocolate box on my foot as a shoe, for some strange reason. I watched two movies today; ‘Nightmare before Christmas’ and ‘Pirates of the Caribbean.’

2007 (Age 13) – Went to Grandma and Grandads. We went to Frankie and Benny’s and watched the ‘Simpsons Movie’ (I didn’t mind watching it again). Then went back to Grandma’s house and I had a Mars Bar ice cream. Grandma offered to test my blood pressure and it’s a sleeve thing that squeezes your arm. Went home, and watched ‘Harry Potter’ with Mum.

2008 (Age 14) – I navigated us back home today. We stopped off at a Little Chef. Cleared my wardrobe out today and found my baby clothes, which my Mum got all nostalgic over.

2009 (Age 15) – Today we decided against the traditional cinema trip; I can wait until the next Harry Potter comes out on DVD. Today we went to Abergonolwyn café and met up with Ade’s Welsh teacher and her partner. I had a panini and a Mars Bar. After that we went to a shop so Ade could buy another little collection of useless DIY items. Crossing the road today, we almost got mowed down by a gang of cyclists because there was a race taking place. Went back to the chalet and watched ‘Planet of the Apes’ which was slightly silly, but apparently a very thought-provoking book. Had to get over all the actors dressed in monkey suits, and take it seriously.

2010 (Age 16) – Woke up with a huge patch of drool on my pool, bigger than usual. I was like, WTF! I couldn’t work out if I’d been crying in my sleep or something. Today Mum and I played some games, including a highly tense game of Jenga.

2011 (Age 17) – Today Mum and I watched ‘Amadeus’ which is about Mozart’s rivalry with a composer called ‘Salieri’ who would have been very famous if not for Mozart. My Mum read my short story, and said that it made her laugh. So happy! It’s the first short story I’ve written than I’m actually proud of.

2012 (Age 18) – Another day of writing and watching gymnastics. At one point the commentator said ‘A picture tells a thousand stories’ and my Mum said, ‘no it doesn’t, it tells one story.’ So funny.  Mum’s bought a cacti and called it ‘Spike’.

2013 (Age 19) – Worked. Mum and I were laughing at funny baby names of the internet. There’s this actress who named her son ‘Banjo,’ and we joked she should have called him ‘Trumpet’ or ‘Trumpy’ for short.

2014 (Age 20) – Today was a cooking day in the office. We didn’t really get much work done. Alice and I made pasta and a gorgeous olive spread for toast. Later, Tara and Poppy made everyone sweet potato fries that were soooo good. After work we went for drinks for commemorate Tara’s last day. That night, Poppy came over to the hostel and we went out on Long Street (getting drunk at the hostel first, and rocking out to some Cape Town vibes). When we were out, some guys tried to get us to come to a club by getting in their random car… dodgy.

2015 (Age 21) – PAGE IS MISSING.

2016 (Age 22) – Another day at work, after a very packed weekend. Rang the tax office. That was fun.

 

3 thoughts on “The Childhood Diaries of A Nervous Girl (1st August)

Leave a Reply

