A Nervous Girl’s Guide to… Why I Hate Politics

I have friends who are so into politics they can talk about it for hours while I quietly snooze in the corner. It’s not that I think politics isn’t important. Of course it is. It dictates the way I live my life. And I have some very strong opinions on the way I think my country (the U.K) should be run. And there are certain decisions that my government has made that have caused my blood to boil to such a level that I have leaped online and hunted down any petitions against the said decision.

But that doesn’t mean I have to show an interest in politics. In fact, I hate politics. And this is for a number of reasons.

  • I don’t understand how it actually works. This is perhaps the main reason why I don’t like it; because it confuses, and bores me, and I don’t understand in the slightest how it all works. I don’t understand all the different types of government, all the ministers and what they do, how people are elected, what all the different elections are for, why it takes 10 million years for them to decide to do anything, and why there are so many upper-class posh people representing a country where the majority of us aren’t. Maybe I should know how it works in order to be a proper Adult. But I think it’s like working out mortgages and tax; politics is just yet another thing that school doesn’t teach you. But at least I know how to work out ‘X’ on a triangle and make a pineapple upside-down cake.
  • I am left-wing; my government isn’t. I know there’s an unspoken rule of ‘never discuss religion or politics,’ and I do try and keep this blog light-hearted, but sometimes I feel like I want to discuss deeper issues. I am very left-wing. And I am living in a country that keeps electing a party who are very right-wing. Naturally, because I am so filled with so much sadness and rage to the point where I want to throw something at the T.V, I don’t feel a desire to find out about all of these new policies that make me want to cry and instead I’d rather just stick my fingers in my ears, go la la la and pretend it isn’t happening.
  • Too much jargon. I hate it when politicians don’t answer the question they have been asked, and instead spurt a stream of verbal diarrhoea that sounds vaguely official. I know that a politician can’t say oops, I royally f**cked that one up. Sorry mate. But at the same time you expect them to have a little bit of honesty, and stop trying to dress up bad or selfish plans with political jargon and long words. Oh, and I also hate it when they raise their voice passionately. That’s f**cking annoying as well.
  • They break promises. The whole point of campaign promises is for parties to tell citizens what their plans are so that we can decide if we want to vote for them. For example, Bert wants to give free ice-cream to all citizens, but Sarah wants people to carry on paying for it. Naturally, I will vote for Bert. Lots of other people saw the value of Bert’s plan for free ice-cream too, and now Bert has been elected in. But now that Bert is in power, he says, ‘Sorry everyone. But I’ve changed my mind on the free ice-cream thing. But I’ve apologised, like my Mummy taught me, so everything is good right?’ No, it’s not good. It’s plain deception, and shows a complete lack of respect for your voters. Frankly, it makes me distrustful of every party and even more disillusioned with politics.

Everyone has a different opinion and I realise that the world would be different if we all thought the same. But politics just stirs up such intense negative feelings for me that I avoid speaking about it all together. So you will not find me engaging in politics banter. Instead, you will find me having a lie-down until it’s all over.

2 thoughts on “A Nervous Girl’s Guide to… Why I Hate Politics

  1. I feel your pain. As a Brit with strong lefty leanings, I’ve watched the decline of the Labour party and the odious crook Blair dragging the country into a phoney war with Iraq. I’ve watched my home city vote for a Mayor who is a buffoon toff and then elect a whole bunch of them to govern. You can see why I emigrated to Denmark…

    Of course lately even liberal old Denmark has been sliding to the right and has seen its halo slipping.

    I completely understand why people become disengaged with politics, when they no longer feel their voice matters, the parties are barely much different once elected and the whole thing looks like a hollow sham of democracy. I think I need a lie-down myself..

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Yes, it’s tiring/devastating, isn’t it? And it’s a shame to hear that about Denmark; I’ve only visited once, but I liked how ‘lefty’ it felt. It makes me sad to think it’s sliding! We can only hibernate for the time being, and hope it all passes as some point.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

